News Details

Application period for German Renewables Award 2015 ends Renewable Energy Hamburg Cluster awards innovative stakeholders and projects in the renewable energy industry

Innovative storage solutions or energy supply concepts – in the past three years, a large number of innovative renewable energy projects have won the German Renewables Award. Until the beginning of June 2015, interested parties could apply in the categories of ‘Product Innovation of the Year’, ‘Project of the Year’, and ‘Student Thesis of the Year’. Also, people could be nominated for the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ category. The award ceremony is held on 3 December 2015, as part of the Renewable Energy Hamburg Cluster five-year anniversary celebration at the Empire Riverside Hotel in Hamburg.

“After winning the German Renewables Award, I reviewed several wind turbines and solar power systems using the method I developed. I've come to know many people who, just like me, are working to help further a decentralised energy supply system,” said Jenny Bünger, FGH GmbH, winner in the category ‘Students Thesis of the Year – Wind Energy’ in 2014. The development of safety concepts for generation plants at medium and high voltage levels that take into account fluctuations in the power grid earned her the award. At present, Jenny Bünger is advocating a standardised type approval for the protection of wind turbines.

The Renewable Energy Hamburg Cluster awards one price per category. An independent, top class jury selects the winners. The award for ‘Product Innovation of the Year’, ‘Project of the Year’ and ‘Lifetime Achievement’ includes a certificate, a trophy and a year’s free entry to all events organised by the Renewable Energy Hamburg Cluster. Furthermore, ‘Student Thesis of the Year’ (bachelor, master or German diploma thesis) is endowed with 5,000 euros prize money.

The jury consists of: Prof Dr Jens Born, Flensburg University of Applied Sciences (FH Flensburg); Prof Dr Maximilian Gege, B.A.U.M. e.V.; Dr Kai Hünemörder, Centre for Energy, Water and Environmental Engineering (Zentrum für Energie-, Wasser, und Umwelttechnik, ZEWU); Dr Daniela Jacob, Climate Service Center Hamburg; Dr Gerd Meier zu Köcker, VDI/VDE-IT Innovation + Technik GmbH; Prof Dr Andreas Reuter, Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology IWES; Andreas Schröter, Director of Division Renewables Certification at DNV GL Energy, and Rüdiger Theophil, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management.

All information regarding the German Renewables Award 2015 at: